• (02) 2360-052 - (02) 2361-591 Ext.116
  • cayambe.turistico@hotmail.com

Parish Cayambe

Parish Urban

The cantonal header bears the name of Cayambe, comes from Cayapa CAY of Cayla, that means mu- chacho, AN that is large and BI which is River; which means "big river" from boy or birth.
According to the story, these lands were considered as a "Center of attraction", by the natural contrast, by its valleys, especially by the geographical location "Half of the world". Several civilizations passed through this territory, which let their culture, great constructions of tolas, ridges, as well as the names of the mountains, elevations, rivers and springs, (Cayambi, Puntiatsil, Cayamburu, Gualimburu, Yasnan), themselves that the ancient inhabitants of this area, the cayambis, had developed an important political and cultural center and prove it to the archaeological and oral testimonies gathered by the early chroniclers of the Indies. It is believed that its territory comprised Otavalo, Cochasquí, Perucho y Pifo. Before the offensive by the incas, for seventeen years, the ethnic Manor of the cayambis, in partnership with the cochasquíes and caranquis, He led the resistance in the northern region of the Andes.
The political life of Cayambe has elapsed in the midst of several events, by the continuous changes of the parish to header cantonal. According to law of the Congress of the Gran Colombia, from June 25, 1824, published in the Gaceta de Colombia No. 124, from July 4 of the same year, Cayambe is head of the fourth canton in the province of Imbabura; the others are Ibarra, Capital of the province, Otavalo and Cotacachi. After dissolution of the Gran Colombia, we can deduce that Cayambe is once again parish of Otavalo.
May 17, 1851, he recreated the Cayambe Canton with the following parroquias: Cayambe -cabecera cantonal-, Tabacundo, Cangahua, Tocachi and Malchingui. (File legislative, 362 national folder). September 13, 1.852 National Assembly changed the cantonal header, then nominating Tabacundo and Cayambe, making him once again, in parish. (Legislative file, pp. 1852 brochure 11).
October 20, 1855 is appended to the Canton of Quito as parish (Legislative file, 1855 pp. brochure (2). definitely July 23, 1833, the Provisional Government presided over by Dr. Luis Cordero, creates the Bolívar Canton with the following parroquias: Cayambe -cabecera cantonal-, Tabacundo, Cangahua, Tocachi, Malchingui, Guayllabamba and Oton.
With the name of Bolívar Canton lasted 9 months. It seems that at the request of its inhabitants is restituted to him the name ancient and beloved of Cayambe, according to the law of Territorial Division of April 17, 1884.
In 1897, Pichincha has 3 cantons: Quito, Cayambe and Mejia. In subsequent territorial divisions, the canton is made with the parroquias of El Quinche, Guayllabamba, Otón, Cangahua, Malchingui, Tocachi, Tabacundo and Olmedo. From the year 1900, it includes the parish La Esperanza.
21 September 1911 it breaks to the Canton of Cayambe for the creation of the Pedro Moncayo Canton. New territorial dismemberments are carried out by the separation of the parishes of El Quinche, in 1934, and Guayllabamba, in 1946
Oficial Name: It takes its name from one of the four founding chieftains, Cayambe chieftain.
Data of fundation: 23 of july of 1883
Population: 50.829 hab
Temperature: 16°
Height: 2.830 m.s.n.m.